Flying Dream 1 by Elbow

Flying Dream 1
Released: 19th November, 2021

About Flying Dream 1

Flying Dream 1 is an album by Elbow. The album is set to be released on Nov 19, 2021. It contains 10 songs.


Critic Reviews

  • There's a gorgeously somnambulant yet softly romantic feel to these 10 songs. ... And it benefits from masterfully subtle arrangement touches.

    Rating: 90/100
  • Flying Dream 1 is in no rush to get anywhere. Its lyrics and music are more lovely than ever before, chock-full of gorgeous piano lines to match Garvey’s husky croon.

    Rating: 82/100
  • Garvey's lyricism is elevated by the subtle complexity of the music, clarinets, choral voices and churchy keyboards whispering through the vents of these sons, causing a quiet stir.

    Rating: 80/100
  • It’s the most bittersweet of silver linings on a record that has turned upheaval into something beautiful.

    Rating: 80/100
    Record Collector
  • If this record doesn’t quite capture the rapturous response of albums like The Seldom Seen Kid or Take Off And Landing Of Everything, it is a clear sign the group are not content to rest on their laurels and are constantly looking to trying something new.

    Rating: 80/100
  • Flying Dream 1 is, in many respects, a typical Elbow album – warm, comforting and sincere. It’s also a record that many of us need after the last two years.

    Rating: 80/100
  • 'Flying Dream 1' is an album that rewards repeated listens, rather than giving an instant payout.

    Rating: 80/100
    The Arts Desk
  • In these crazy times, losing yourself in daydreams can be an effective way to reclaim some modicum of hope, and Flying Dream 1 might just be the perfect soundtrack for taking these flights of the mind.

    Rating: 80/100
  • This is an album that (once again) quietly demands to be heard, and enjoyed, as an inseparable whole.

    Rating: 80/100
    The Observer
  • The confidence and trust they have as a group is manifested in the songs. Flying Dream 1 also trusts its listeners, asking us to hold a quiet space for the music and let it reveal itself over time. It requires a tiny leap of faith to “step into the air” and fly.

    Rating: 80/100
  • There is more mood than melody here, but while the band never manages to match their divine influences, there are moments when this newfound restraint pays off.

    Rating: 60/100
    The Irish Times
  • The result is a soothing, slow-burning collection which reflects on times and friends gone by.

    Rating: 60/100